University of Wisconsin–Madison

People

Principal Investigator

This is the caption text

Raluca O. Scarlat

Assistant Professor

Raluca Scarlat’s Research Group investigates the transport of tritium and other radioisotopes in molten fluoride salts and graphite fuel elements. They study freezing transients of fluoride salt coolants from the point of view of thermal-hydraulic phenomenology, nuclear reactor transients, and safety analysis.

Mailing Address

921 Engineering Research Building
1500 Engineering Drive, Madison, WI 53706

Contact

Phone: +1.608.890.4256

Email: raluca.scarlat@wisc.edu

Postdoctoral Scholars

Dr. Ruchi Gakhar

Dr. Ruchi Gakhar

Postdoctoral Scholar

931 ERB

Contact

Phone: +1.608.890.3579

Graduate Students

Mohamed Abou Dbai | Ph.D. Student | aboudbai@wisc.edu | Natural circulation stability

Mohamed Abou Dbai

Ph.D. Student

Thermal-Hydraulics & Stability of Natural Circulation Systems in FHR

Contact

Email: aboudbai@wisc.edu

Kazi Ahmed | Ph.D. Student | NEUP Fellow | kkahmed@wisc.edu | TH system model development for freezing transients in FHR

Kazi Ahmed

NEUP Fellow

TH system model development for FHR safety

Contact

Email: kkahmed@wisc.edu

Francesco Carotti | Ph.D. Student | carotti@wisc.edu | electrochemistry of molten salts

Francesco Carotti

Ph.D. Student

Electrochemistry of Molten Salts

Contact

Email: carotti@wisc.edu

delmore

Alexandra Delmore

Graduate Student

Contact

Email: ardelmore@wisc.edu

headshot

Will Derdeyn

NRC Fellow

Molten Salt Spectroscopy

Contact

Email: wderdeyn@wisc.edu

Ricardo Vidrio | PhD Student |
vidrio.rv@gmail.com

Ricardo Vidrio

PhD Student

Research topics: Solidification of molten fluoride salts, including nucleation and glass behavior

Contact

Email: vidrio.rv@gmail.com

Huali Wu | Ph.D. Student | huali@wisc.edu | Tritium transport in fluoride salt and graphite

Huali Wu

PhD Student

Contact

Email: huali@wisc.edu

Research Interns

photo

Loic Gallet

Research Intern

Contact

Email: lgallet@wisc.edu

photo_2017-07-06_18-40-51

Zahed Ghelichkhah

Research Intern

Contact

Email: ghelichkhah@wisc.edu

Undergraduate Students

AA

Allan Almeida

BS Student

Kyle | BS Nuclear Engineering | kanderson29@wisc.edu | Modelling Salt Freezing

Kyle Anderson

BS Student

18199460_1456327934389180_6238584451099991112_n

Allen Chen

BS Student

Contact

Email: allen.chen@wisc.edu

Ben

Ben Chen

BS Student

Past Students

MICHAEL YOUNG - MS Graduate
LOUIS CHAPDELAINE - MS Graduate
MEREDY BRICHFORD - MS Graduate
EISSA ALKINDI - BS Student
QUENTIN DESLOT - Research Intern
KEVIN VAN DUYSEN - Research Intern
TALMAGE KEGLEY - BS student
RASHEED AUGUSTE - Research Intern
NICHOLAS KIZEWSKI - BS Student
LUCAS ROGERS - BS Student