University of Wisconsin–Madison

People

Diversity and Inclusion

Our group is strongly committed to serving the diversity and inclusion responsibilities of the university because equal access to education is an important value of democracy and because the university shapes the fabric of the culture and the values of future generations.

Principal Investigator

This is the caption text

Raluca O. Scarlat

Assistant Professor

Mailing Address

921 Engineering Research Building
1500 Engineering Drive, Madison, WI 53706

Contact

Phone: +1.608.890.4256

Email: raluca.scarlat@wisc.edu

Student Offices

921, 927, 918 Engineering Research Building +1.608.890.3579 heatandmass@ep.wisc.edu

Graduate Students

Mohamed Abou Dbai | Ph.D. Student | aboudbai@wisc.edu | Natural circulation stability

Mohamed Abou Dbai

Ph.D. Student

Thermal-Hydraulics & Stability of Natural Circulation Systems in FHR

Contact

Email: aboudbai@wisc.edu

Kazi Ahmed | Ph.D. Student | NEUP Fellow | kkahmed@wisc.edu | TH system model development for freezing transients in FHR

Kazi Ahmed

NEUP Fellow

TH system model development for FHR safety

Contact

Email: kkahmed@wisc.edu

Francesco Carotti | Ph.D. Student | carotti@wisc.edu | electrochemistry of molten salts

Francesco Carotti

Ph.D. Student

Electrochemistry of Molten Salts

Contact

Email: carotti@wisc.edu

delmore

Alexandra Delmore

Graduate Student

Contact

Email: ardelmore@wisc.edu

headshot

Will Derdeyn

NRC Fellow

Molten Salt Spectroscopy

Contact

Email: wderdeyn@wisc.edu

Ricardo Vidrio | PhD Student |
vidrio.rv@gmail.com

Ricardo Vidrio

PhD Student

Research topics: Solidification of molten fluoride salts, including nucleation and glass behavior

Contact

Email: vidrio.rv@gmail.com

Huali Wu | Ph.D. Student | huali@wisc.edu | Tritium transport in fluoride salt and graphite

Huali Wu

PhD Student

Study of Tritium transport in FLibe-graphite system
Micro-structural characterization

Contact

Email: huali@wisc.edu

Undergraduate Students

AA

Allan Almeida

BS Student

Kyle | BS Nuclear Engineering | kanderson29@wisc.edu | Modelling Salt Freezing

Kyle Anderson

BS Student

18199460_1456327934389180_6238584451099991112_n

Allen Chen

BS Student

Graphite Characterization

FLiBe Intrusion Experiment

Contact

Email: allen.chen@wisc.edu

Ben

Ben Chen

BS Student

Research topics: Static solidification and supercooling of molten salts

Contact

Email: chen548@wisc.edu

screen-shot-2018-01-16-at-10-44-54-pm

Lewis Gross

BS Student

Contact

Email: ligross@wisc.edu

screenshot-22

Austin Laudenbach

BS Student

Contact

Email: alaudenbach@wisc.edu

Group Alumni

Loïc GALLET. loic.gallet@eleves.enpc.fr. Grad Intern Summer/Fall 2017: salt viscosity, and cover gas analysis. Currently a data science intern at Luckey Homes and will be joining University of Tokyo for a degree in Technology Management for Innovation.

Dr. Ruchi GAKHAR. Postdoctoral Scholar 2016-2017. Molten salt optical spectroscopy and calorimetry studies, and matrix graphite microstructural characterization. Currently at Idaho National Laboratory.

NISARG PATEL - MS Graduate 2017. Modeling of tritium transport in a PB-FHR graphitic fuel element.

LOUIS CHAPDELAINE - MS Graduate 2017. NEUP Fellow. Molten salt solidification experimental and computational studies, molten salt liquid density measurements.

MEREDY BRICHFORD - MS Graduate 2017. Modeling of tritium transport in an PB-FHR core.

MICHAEL YOUNG - MS Graduate 2015. NEUP Fellow. Modeling of tritium transport in graphite.

QUENTIN DESLOT - MS Research Intern.
ADRIEN HOGREL - MS Research Intern.
KEVIN VAN DUYSEN - Research Intern.

TALMAGE KEGLEY - BS student
RASHEED AUGUSTE - BS Research Intern, home institution: MIT.
NICHOLAS KIZEWSKI - BS Student
LUCAS ROGERS - BS Student
EISSA ALKINDI - BS Student
More alumni [https://heatandmass.ep.wisc.edu/staff-and-students]